Sometimes the Obvious Just Needs to be Said

“If it were easy, everyone would be doing it” is a common phrase.  But those were the words spoken to me and encouraged me to continue doing what I do.  The person who uttered that phrase to me over a cup of coffee was none other than Ted Rubin, and I thank him for pointing out the obvious to me.

I would have never had the opportunity to meet Ted Rubin if it weren’t for Deidre Drewes, who blog post was published on the Pivot Con site.  I would have never been introduced to Deirdre Drewes had I not met Ric Dragon, who introduced me to the UsGuys on Twitter.  I would have never met Ric Dragon had I not attended BlogWorld in New York, and I would have never attended BlogWorld had it not been for social media.  By the way, the UsGuys group is an incredibly encouraging and engaging group, and I hope to meet them all one day!

Photo by buddawiggi

I’ve had the great opportunity to meet many other people in real life too, all through the power of social media.  Social media is a great bridge to social interaction in real life, and I think that is its greatest strength.  Social media has the ability to put you in contact with more people than you ever thought possible, but it is only the door.  You have to do the rest to complete the circle and foster the relationships you’ve just made.

I don’t think I’m saying anything new here, but just like Ted did with me, sometimes the obvious just needs to be said.

What do you think the greatest strength of social media is?  What incredible people have you met in real life through social media?

6 thoughts on “Sometimes the Obvious Just Needs to be Said

    1. Hi Ric, thanks for commenting! Our conversation at Blogworld was really encouraging and motivating and I’ll never forget it. And because of that conversation we’ll always be in touch and connected!

  1. Great post Jason. For me it is an every day occurrence and I cannot possibly measure the true value of all the relationships I am building. It’s people like you who make it all worthwhile. Remember… Relationships are like muscle tissue, the more you use them, the stronger they get 🙂

    1. Thank you Ted, and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to meet with me. Thank you for the advice you gave me and the encouragement. I hope I can repay you one day.

  2. Well put, Jason! I think we’ve all had these AHA! moments in which we realize the awesome relationships we have made would not have been possible without social media in conjunction with in-person interactions. Social media is wonderful because it can spark the conversation or continue the conversation long after an in-person meeting.

    1. Hi Deidre,

      Thank you for taking the time out to comment, I really appreciate it. Sorry it took so long to approve. I’m hoping that I do get to meet you one day in person!

Leave a Reply

