Just Pause for a Moment

Pause
Pause © Eran Finkle
If you’re anything like me, your motor has been already running at full steam this whole year. Ever think about pausing for a little bit to just take in everything and everyone around you?

Chances are that you’re into social media just like I am and it’s true, social media is 24/7, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. If social media were a city, it would be New York, the city that never sleeps. But as Ted Rubin constantly reminds me from his tweets, social media is all about relationships that go beyond the keyboard, screen, computer, tablet, or phone. You can’t build and enjoy those relationships if you don’t pause for a moment.

If you’re just wrapped up in the moment of it all I can’t blame you. The economy hasn’t been great and everybody is feeling the pressure to succeed at the same level with less. In some ways the holiday season doesn’t help. Stores are now open on Thanksgiving, a day that was meant to spend with family. We’ve got energy drink solutions that will help you stay awake and alert so that you can survive on only 4 hours of sleep a night.

I’m not suggesting that you go on an extended hiatus or hibernate. I’m not suggesting that you stop. I’m merely suggesting that you pause, take a break, and spend time with the people around you that you care about. As Jack Daniel’s cleverly put it for the holidays, “it’s not what’s under the tree that matters most, it’s who’s around it”.

If you don’t want to take my word for it, perhaps you’ve heard of a friend of mine, Ann Tran. Read what Ann has to say about unplugging and how that helps her.

I’d love to hear what you have to say about pausing and taking a break, so please share your comments and thoughts. What do you think about pausing for a moment?

I’d like to wish everyone a safe and Happy Holiday! I hope you all get to enjoy the family and friends around you.

7 thoughts on “Just Pause for a Moment

  1. How timely. This past week I’ve spent letting go of some fascinating things because the quality of my social relationships and participation has suffered.

    This week, my blogposts were focused more on the content and I purposefully didn’t put in the time to do SEO. I unsubscribed from very good blogs because I wasn’t reading them all, and if I read them, I had to get honest about the reality of implementing what they’re teaching.

    This year-end “cleaning” has been great. I’ll get back to the SEO but will be more conscious about new things that I invite into my inbox … the stuff that was drowning out my relationships.

  2. Couldn’t agree more, Jason. You (read I) tend to forget exactly what this is all about – being mentally present and not just physically in your life. Like ozpeppers imply you don’t have be friends with everybody you somehow come across on Facebook, Twitter, blogs etc. Especially, if you don’t read them even the reasons are simply not having the time. I use to say, you can’t have everything you might want and that isn’t necessarily bad. On the other hand if what you can have you can have with greater quality, pleasure and presence it’s far better.
    Pausing should be the new black.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

