Quietly Ending 2012 Energized Me For 2013

Me and Derek going sledding
Me and Derek going sledding
My apologies to all if I was unresponsive to you from Christmas to New Year’s. I recently posted about taking a break, and from Christmas to New Year’s I was able to do just that. I’ll admit that I wasn’t completely unplugged, I can’t help but check my social networks at least once a day, but for the most part I was offline.

Sometimes I’m not good at taking my own advice. The saying “do as I say not as I do” comes to mind when I tell people that they need to take time off, because I rarely do that. But this time I decided to use the last week in 2012 to reset the clock and recharge by unplugging. I took a break.

My wife and I were able to take our son Derek sledding for the first time, he’s only 2 and a half. And while it was incredibly tiring to pick him up and walk up the hill each time after we sledded down, it was a lot of fun and we all had a blast! I spent a lot of time playing with him and his Thomas trains and reading books. I also had a chance to hang out with friends and play football and basketball. Although physically tiring it was also a lot of fun, and it took my mind off of social media.

The intensity of social media can be very tiring and draining, and managing a brand’s social presence just adds to the pressure. So the time off was good and focusing my energy on social activities that don’t require a laptop, tablet, or smartphone energized me and got me ready to take on 2013. It was also a good reminder that personal relationships matter most, and this will continue to be my social media focus for 2013. Just because we interact on a screen, doesn’t mean that it ends there.

How did you end 2012? Did you have to reset the clock, unplug and recharge? What are some of the goals you have for 2013?

6 thoughts on “Quietly Ending 2012 Energized Me For 2013

  1. Great idea Jason. Marty and I did the same thing, we stayed offline and just posted a couple of pics for Christmas and New Years. Spent time together and with our families was awesome. You are right it is good to once in awhile take a break so that we can recharge for the fun as well as challenges in the coming year.

  2. I don’t know if you saw it but a lot of people followed Chris Brogan in choosing:
    3 Words That Will Define 2013

    I chose: Performance, Cheeky and Triage.
    http://datascopic.net/performance-cheeky-triage/

    ‘Triage’ is one of my words because of reasons you mentioned: managing social media is time-consuming and can be draining. I spent the end of 2012 making tough decisions to let go of some pretty cool things. I unsubscribed from some excellent blogs. (Notice that your notification came through). I’ve been wary about the things I book mark. Wary about starting up a new account that has a likelihood of going dormant.

    You took a breath to get refresh. I de-cluttered my path. Both are really good ways to be prepared. So far, so good. How are you doing 4 days into the year?

    1. Hi Oz,

      As always, thank you for your comments and input! I did read Chris Brogan’s blog post and I have yet to pick 3 words to define my 2013, I’ll have to get on that. Thank you for continuing to subscribe to my blog, I really appreciate that. I’ve added your blog to my Google Reader.

      My first 4 days have been good. I’m re-energized and ready to take on everything 2013 has to throw my way. I hope these first 4 days have been good to you!

  3. Cool stuff!
    These first 6 days have been hectic–in a good way. I’ve got good projects going on and already pulled a couple of all-nighters. Working to keep the momentum up through the rest of the year.

Leave a Reply

