My New Workout Buddy Comes With No Strings (Or Wires) Attached

Have you ever had this happen to you at the gym? You’re running on the treadmill or lifting weights and you inadvertently send your [name your music playback device here] flying by hitting the headphone cable with your arm swing? It usually happens to me when I’m running on a treadmill. I became so self-conscious of my arm swing afterwards that running just wasn’t the same anymore.

To remedy this I ended up buying an armband to hold my phone, and my phone never went flying from the treadmill again. BUT now I had my phone strapped to my arm and it just didn’t feel very comfortable. So when I saw the W Series Waterproof Walkman announced at CES, I couldn’t wait to try them. After waiting a few months for the product to be released, I finally have them!

Sony W Series Walkman

Putting music on them was pretty easy. You have to install the Sony software included, but it can read your iTunes files so you can add music from your iTunes account to the Walkman, unless the extension is .m4p. 4GB is more than enough space to add a good amount of music and you can also create different playlists. So with the music added, it’s off to the gym!

Sony W Series Walkman

The Walkman is lightweight and compact, and there’s no armband to wear and no wires for me to accidentally get tangled up in. There are controls on each of the heaphones that are simple to use. I don’t usually wear earbuds, so that took a little getting used to, but other than that the fit was great. The new design includes an adjustment strap in the back, which helps you to get a tighter fit. If I’m working out at the gym with someone else I can just fold the Walkman up and put it in my pocket.

Sony W Series Walkman

Now I’ve got one less thing to take to the gym and worry about. It’s just the W Series Walkman, a towel and a bottle of water. Done.

What do you guys think, a good item to add to your gym bag? I’d love to hear your feedback, and if you happen to have one as well let me know!

Oh I haven’t had a chance to test out it’s waterproof capability. I’ll probably try that this summer in the pool, I’ll let you know how it goes with that.

3 thoughts on “My New Workout Buddy Comes With No Strings (Or Wires) Attached

Leave a Reply

