Sony Cine Gear 2013: Filmmaking, Friends, and 4K

Paramount Studios
Paramount Studios

Part of my social media role includes attending the various trade shows and events that we either host or attend. Cine Gear is definitely one of my favorite shows to attend. If you ever want to see the equipment that is used to shoot your favorite television series or movie, this is the show for you. The Cine Gear Expo takes place at the Pararmount Studios lot (if you haven’t had a chance to visit yet, I recommend it) and is relatively short in length, just a day and a half. To be honest, it feels like the right amount of time for a trade show.

This year the unofficial theme was 4K, and not only did we have our 4K cameras at our booth, we also showed “After Earth” in the Paramount Theater in 4K. If you haven’t had a chance to see a movie in 4K yet, I suggest you try it. The visuals of the movie were great, with the colors popping and details in the dark shots were still visible. There are movie theaters that have 4K projectors installed so you can definitely find a place to watch one. The projector that was used to show this movie in 4K was massive!

Sony 4K Projector
Sony 4K Projector
After Earth Screening in 4K
After Earth Screening in 4K
Sony 4K Projector Back Panel
Sony 4K Projector Back Panel

I had a chance to walk around the back lot as well, and seeing all of the rigs and camera arms was pretty amazing. In fact it’s just pretty incredible to think about all of the gear and technology that’s required on a shoot so we can sit back and enjoy a 2 hour movie or 30 minute sitcom. Also listening to Directors and DP’s talk about their work on productions and how they were trying to convey their message through film or video gives me a new appreciation for shows and movies that I watch. I even got to be on the set of a production for about 30 minutes, and it was pretty exciting to see all of the people involved working to get the shot and get it right. I can sort of understand the rush of working on a project like that and the excitement around it. It was nice to see the passion of the people that work in the film and television industry.

Sony PMW-F55
Sony PMW-F55
Octocopter
Octocopter
F65 On Camera Arm
F65 On Camera Arm

Finally, I had a chance to meet the users that I communicate via social media. If you haven’t read it in my Twitter bio, I’m a big believer in face to face meetings, and trade shows are a good way to make connections face to face. I’d like to thank Ann Tran, Michael Farkas, Liv Violette, Calvin Lee, Marla Schulman, Gina Mom, and Todd Zebert for coming out for me to experience Cine Gear. I’d love to mention everyone that I met at Cine Gear but the list is just too long!

4 thoughts on “Sony Cine Gear 2013: Filmmaking, Friends, and 4K

    1. Hi Jody, thanks for the comment! This show is a really fun show to attend and it’s in a great location! It’s the third time that I’ve gotten to spend time with Ann and each time it’s a blast. Hope to meet you too one day in real life!

  1. I was going through my Facebook timeline and suddenly saw a photo of you! I didn’t know you were friends with Calvin 🙂 Anyway, I’ve nominated you for a blog award but you’ll have to check out my latest post to learn more about it. Happy Friday, Jason!

    1. Hi Gisele,

      Yup I’ve been able to hang with Calvin a bunch of times now in Cali and NY. Always fun hanging out with him. Hopefully we’ll get to meet in real life too one day!

Leave a Reply

