A Conscience For My Active And Healthy Lifestyle

Living an active and healthy lifestyle is a choice, and it takes time and effort. Let’s face it, sometimes it’s a lot easier to sit on the couch and turn on the TV than to take a walk or run a couple of miles. There are also other components to living a healthy lifestyle than just being active. Sometimes we need the something there to motivate us or help us stay on schedule. Enter the Jawbone UP.

Up7_edit

Now I must disclose that as a Verizon #VZWBuzz Lifestyle Blogger I received the Jawbone UP for free, and I was very interested in trying it out. I am in the middle of training for a Super Spartan Race that I will be participating in on September 9, and my goal is to continue participating in more Spartan Races in the future. So I was curious to see how the Jawbone UP would help me with my training. After using the UP band for about a month, it’s become more than just a way to measure the steps I take and to see how much sleep I get.

Unfortunately on August 20, I didn't hit my goals.
Unfortunately on August 20, I didn’t hit my goals.

 

The UP band is a constant reminder to stay active, which means getting up from my desk from time to time to walk around. For those that know me, I wear black all the time, and the UP band that I received is mint green, so it stands out. The fact that the UP band is worn around the wrist means that I see the reminder all the time. It’s become the conscience I need when I’m feeling the temptation to not hit the gym and just sit on the couch and watch TV. It’s also a reminder for me to hit the daily activity and sleep goals that I’ve set for myself.

As someone who is pretty active already, I’ve found that tracking my calorie intake with the UP band has been the most helpful, and eye opening. As I mentioned earlier, living an active and healthy lifestyle isn’t easy, and sticking to a diet is the toughest part. But adding everything I eat into the Jawbone UP application I can see how many calories I’m actually consuming, and sometimes it’s not pretty. I equate this to managing a personal budget, sometimes we’d rather not see how much money we’re actually spending, or we just assume that we can afford everything we want to do. It’s not until you sit down and write down all of the numbers that you realize how much money you’re actually spending. In the same way you really don’t know how many calories you’re consuming if you don’t log what you eat. While this might be the most painful process, if you’re serious about living a healthy lifestyle, this is necessary.

Keeping track of your caloric intake is important.

And if that’s not enough to motivate me, the Jawbone UP allows me to team up with others too. It’s much easier sticking to a diet and workout if you’re partnering with friends, and it’s definitely more fun too. Community is great with it comes to working out. Not only will your community encourage you and push you to work harder, they will also help correct you if you’re doing something wrong as mine did when I posted this photo of my plank workout. So if you’ve got a Jawbone UP or eventually get one and need a teammate, look me up, I’d be happy to team up with you. And if you’re looking for some reasons why you should try and live an active and healthy lifestyle, read 17 Fitness Tips To Keep Up With The Demands Of Social Media by my good friend Misty Belardo-McPadden.

The weight should have been lower on my back, as my community helped to point out.
The weight should have been lower on my back, as my community helped to point out.

 

So when I look at my wrist and see this mint green band, I’m reminded to put the cookie or candy bar down, and go and hit the gym later. A painful decision to make at times, but that’s what my new conscience is there for. And I’m guessing that when I’m running the Super Spartan Race on Sunday, that I’ll be happy I listened. What do you use to help you become conscience for a more active and healthy lifestyle? Share your thoughts by leaving a comment.

10 thoughts on “A Conscience For My Active And Healthy Lifestyle

  1. Jason, This is a great review of the Jawbone! Since I’m using Nike Fuel, guess we can’t connect as “friends” through the app, however, it’s been fun to stay in step (no pun intended) with you on FB/Twitter and Instagram. See you in Chicago in Sept…perhaps if we have time, we can run along the lake! Again, I as I said, I’d be a bad running partner bc you know, we’d have to stop and instagram 😉

    1. Thanks Duong! Yes can’t wait to meet you in September. It would be awesome to go running with you, I hope there will be time! And yes, we’d definitely have to stop and Instagram for sure!

  2. I knew you will love the JawBone UP 🙂 We will be rooting for you for your Spartan Race for sure!! Thank you also for the mention and for giving our reader’s at SteadyStrength your fitness tip on how you keep up with blogging and social media.

    1. Thanks Jody! The Spartan Race is definitely going to be very challenging. The Jawbone UP sort of forced me to realize how many extra calories I was taking in. It’s so easy to cheat on the diet!

Leave a Reply

