The Effectiveness of Telling the Stories of Others

The NFL created a love for the game with its "Together We Make Football" contest © Jayel Aheram
The NFL created a love for the game with its “Together We Make Football” contest © Jayel Aheram
Watching the NFL Super Bowl is more than just watching the game, it’s also about watching the commercials that run during the game. The Super Bowl is the event where brands want to become memorable to the viewers, hopefully for something clever and exciting. The brand that stood out the most to me was actually the NFL. It wasn’t for an ad that ran during the game, and it most certainly wasn’t because of the game since it was rather lopsided. Congratulations to the Seattle Seahawks for winning! It was because of their “Together We Make Football” contest that they aired right before the game.

The contest
From the Together We Make Football site contestants are asked to submit the following: “Essay/Image: an essay in one thousand (1,000) words or less (including counting words such as “I”, “a”, etc.) describing why football is a huge part of your (or your child’s or legal ward’s) life and why it means so much to you (or your child or legal ward as applicable), hereafter, your “Story” AND up to five (5) current, original, unaltered digital photos or images depicting your Story; OR Video: a video in up to five (5) minutes in length depicting your (or your child’s or legal ward’s) Story.”

Those words can be summed up in this one sentence: Tell us why football is a big deal to you and how it has affected your life. The winners would receive tickets to Super Bowl 48 in New Jersey.

Telling the stories
The program that aired showed the ten finalists and the 5 winners that were picked, but also showed snippets of other contestants that submitted entries. From the graphic artist that was inspired to continue her career to the boy who was born with one hand, each story was passionate and emotional. As you watched each segment you felt the joy that each person had for the game. The focus was on the game of football and more importantly the person, and the NFL’s role was making their dreams of watching a Super Bowl come true.

Positive vibes
So what’s the point of a brand like the NFL making creating this contest and telling stories about the people? It’s all about the NFL putting a positive image of the brand in my mind or any consumers mind. And positive feelings about a brand can lead to continued interest which can lead to continued investment in the brand whether it is time or money. If you don’t agree then think of the opposite. Would you spend your time and money on a brand that you think about negatively or are indifferent about?

As I continue to watch ads and commercials, or see and read about marketing campaigns, sometimes I think brands miss the mark on what resonates with people. I’m glad the NFL didn’t miss it this time. As a consumer I want a brand to tell me how they will enhance my life and the life of others. I don’t want the brand to tell me how I need to find a way to fit their product into my life in order for it be better. What about you? What brands do you think have done a good job of finding a message that resonates with the people?

2 thoughts on “The Effectiveness of Telling the Stories of Others

  1. Love this: As a consumer I want a brand to tell me how they will enhance my life and the life of others. I don’t want the brand to tell me how I need to find a way to fit their product into my life in order for it be better.

    I can recall this life insurance company that has people helping people & how each person being helped is lead to help another – I always love that one! Paying it forward!

Leave a Reply

