Pause The World: Don’t Take Opportunities For Granted

Pause The World:  Don’t Take Opportunities For Granted
Pause The World: Don’t Take Opportunities For Granted

 
Whenever I’m driving and I see something that would look like a great photo, I usually let it go and continue on my way. But since the Hudson River freezing over seemed like a once in a long while thing, or at best a once in a year thing depending on the weather, I decided to pull over to the side and snap a few pictures.

This was the first time I EVER exited a highway or pulled over to the side of the road to take a picture, and let me say that it wasn’t as simple as I thought it would be. When I exited the West Side Highway in Manhattan, I saw this nice little parking lot where I could stop and snap a photo, and that’s where I intended to go. But after I exited the road, I couldn’t find it! I drove up and down searching for this little lot and after 20 minutes of frustration and stopping at traffic lights I decided to forget it and continue on my way. And as I got on the looping ramp to get back on the West Side Highway, I FINALLY saw the little parking lot off to the side, got off and was able to take the photo.

Who knows when the Hudson River will be frozen over again. Maybe it will next winter, or maybe it won’t. Maybe I’ll never see it again in my lifetime. At least I know I’ve got the shot, and that what I saw doesn’t only exist in my mind.

Sometimes when opportunity knocks it seems to take us off the road most traveled and down a different path. That road can be frustrating, aggravating, and trying on your patience but in the end you don’t have to wonder “what if”. Don’t take opportunities for granted, because you don’t know if they’ll come knocking again.

2 thoughts on “Pause The World: Don’t Take Opportunities For Granted

Leave a Reply

