Sphere Of Influence: Diana Adams On Tech And Blogging For Newbies

Sphere Of Influence - Diana Adams

From the moment that I first stumbled upon www.bitrebels.com, I was totally hooked. And back then, since Diana Adams was responsible for writing a good portion of the posts on that site, I knew that meeting her face to face one day would be a treat. So finally, after communicating only on Twitter for a while, I finally got the chance to do just that. It’s a great experience to meet someone who is extremely popular and influential and yet very humble at the same time. Diana Adams is that person. She makes time to talk with her son everyday no matter where she is, and when the city of Atlanta was crippled by snow, she was out there with her Hummer helping people out just because it was the right thing to do. She’s a successful business owner and an amazing writer, and her energy and enthusiasm for what she does is just contagious. Meeting her in person was an experience I’ll never forget and I hope we get to meeting in person again. She’s got her finger on the pulse on all things gadget and tech related, and an expert blogger, and I was really happy that she agreed to be interviewed here.

Me: When and how did you get started in social media?

Diana Adams: In 2008, my friend mentioned a website she had discovered called Twitter. I had never heard of it. She explained how it works, and on March 2, 2009, I signed up for an account.

Twitter was my first social media experience. I was instantly fascinated with how much fun it was. Back then, Twitter was a small community of geeks. It was easy to build a large following fast because everyone pretty much followed everyone. There weren’t Twitter bots, nobody scheduled tweets, and there wasn’t hardly any Twitter spam.

In 2009, @mistygirlph and I would leave Twitter open all day, and we would tweet music links back and forth and listen to songs from Twitter for hours.

Fast forward to now – I’ve sent over 143,000 tweets, and Twitter is still very special. I’m also active on Instagram, Google+ and Facebook, but my first social media love will always be Twitter.

Me: You’re always in the know about all of the latest gadgets and technology, what’s the one gadget or tech that has impressed you the most recently and why?

Diana Adams: This is a very hard question for me to answer. I wish I could make a list of ten things, but I’ll try to narrow it down to one. I’m very impressed with the new Glassware, with Apple’s Mac Pro, and with LG’s HomeChat tech which allows you to text your home appliances to get information (like your refrigerator, washing machine, vacuum or oven).

Since I’m a huge fan of tech with a retro flavor, I’ll choose the Polaroid Socialmatic as my number one fav at the moment. I first read about this little gadget in January. It’s basically a badass Android camera with a built in printer. The photos it instantly prints have a tiny QR code in the corner to make grabbing a digital copy super easy.

Polaroid Socialmatic
Polaroid Socialmatic [Photo credit: http://www.social-matic.com/site/project]

 
Me: You’ve done an amazing amount of blogging, what’s one piece of advice that you can give to newbie bloggers?

Diana Adams: Even though I’ve written over 4,000 blog posts, I can clearly remember the day I wrote my first one. Blogging is such an exciting and fulfilling way to connect with the world, or at least it is to me.

If I could give one piece of advice to newbie bloggers, it would be to write for the sake of writing. Fall in love with being a writer, and work every day to perfect that craft and inspire others.

It’s easy to get caught up in trying to make money from blogging, SEO or using it to gain customers. There’s nothing wrong with any of those things, but if you don’t develop a passion for the writing itself, it can be hard to keep up the stamina and motivation required to be consistent for the long haul.

If you haven’t connected with Diana Adams on social yet, you’re missing out. Here’s where you can find her on social: Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Instagram.

6 thoughts on “Sphere Of Influence: Diana Adams On Tech And Blogging For Newbies

  1. Thank you for your kind words, Jason. It’s such an honor to be featured on your blog, and I’m humbled by all the nice things you wrote about me. It was so great to meet you in NYC, and I’ll never forgot those delicious baked beans and mac-n-cheese. LOL You are an inspiration for anyone who wants to up their blogging or social media game, and I feel blessed to know you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

