Sphere Of Influence: Ted Rubin, Return On Relationship

Sphere Of Influence:  Ted Rubin, Return On Relationship

If you’ve seen the hashtag #RonR floated out social media, it’s because of Ted Rubin. Ted created the hashtag and it stands for “Return on Relationship”, which is a concept that I cannot believe more brands and people don’t buy into. If you don’t know what “Return on Relationship” is, Ted was kind enough to explain it all when I asked him in the interview below. I’ll definitely never forget meeting Ted, and if you get the chance to meet him you won’t either. When you hear Ted speak, the first thing you’ll notice is the passion he has for the message he’s delivering. I’m one that completely buys into it by the way. But not only does Ted deliver a great message, he lives it. I don’t know how he does it, but somehow with his busy speaking schedule and work, Ted finds the time for people. He talks the talk, and then walks the walk. While he’s not afraid to tell it like it is, he’s also not one to just pick a fight and argue for no reason. I’ve seen Ted communicate his points effectively and intelligently; he’s a guy I look up to and admire. So when he agreed to answer these questions for me I was completely jazzed and honored. He’s a guy with a packed schedule, and yet he found the time answer a request from someone like me. I hope you connect with him and learn, just like I have.

Me: When and How did you get started in social media?

Ted Rubin: Media has been social for a lot longer than the current social platforms, so I would say I have been social for a long time. In its current form my activity ramped up considerably in 2008 when I joined e.l.f. Cosmetics and started building my brand and theirs concurrently via Twitter, FB and YouTube. At that time those platforms we scaling and I saw an incredibly opportunity to get ahead of the curve and do something I truly and naturally enjoyed… build relationships at scale around the clock.

Me: I’m a big believer in #RonR (as you already know), for all of the people who don’t know what #RonR (Return on Relationship) is, can you briefly describe the ideology behind it?

Ted Rubin: Return on Relationship, ROR, hashtag #RonR is the value that is accrued by a person or brand due to nurturing a relationship. ROI is simple $’s and cents. ROR is the value (both perceived and real) that will accrue over time through connection, loyalty, recommendations and sharing. In its simplest form ROR is about the people. If you are only focused on the Money, you risk completely overlooking the People.

Me: You’ve worked with plenty of brands, big and small, what do you tell brands that ask what’s the proof of ROI on #RonR?

Ted Rubin: I initially ask them how they perceive the ROI of Trust, and the ROI of Loyalty… every CEO understands the value there. Brands/Companies that use social successfully reap the rewards of customer satisfaction, deeper employee loyalty, more effective knowledge sharing, improved brand reputation, lowered costs, and importantly, increased revenues.

Ted Rubin lives and breathes social media, there’s a lot you can learn from him, and my thanks to him for agreeing to be interviewed here. If you’d like to connect with Ted, you can find him here: TedRubin.com, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

