5 Unexpected Benefits That Happen Naturally When You Blog Frequently

From the desk of Diana Adams (@adamsconsulting)

It’s no secret that almost everyone is a blogger, especially since some people would argue that just being active on social media counts as blogging. I’ve been a blogger for many years, and I’ve written hundreds of articles about blogging. Blogging is one of those interesting topics that is always full of surprises. Just recently, I’ve learned even more about blogging, and I’d humbly like to share it with you.

After I wrote exactly 4,020 blog posts, I abruptly stopped. I didn’t blog at all for 8 months. Now I have the pleasure of guest blogging on my several of my friends’ blogs, and I’m seeing blogging from a whole new perspective. I’m seeing new benefits of blogging that I never noticed before, and they’re worth writing about.

5 Unexpected Benefits That Happen Naturally When You Blog Frequently

If you start reading articles about blogging, you’ll undoubtedly read over and over that it’s good to blog frequently. My question is, why? We all know that blogging frequently will increase traffic to your blog, it will establish you as a leader in your field, it will help you gain new customers, and it might even help you find a new job.

But what else? What are the other benefits of blogging often? I’ve discovered 5 unexpected benefits of blogging that happen naturally when you blog frequently. These are things you probably haven’t thought of, and they might be just the things you need to boost your motivation and inspiration to update your blog more often.

1. Your creativity will go into overdrive.

I wrote 3-6 blog posts per day, 7 days a week, for over 4 years. Then I stopped for 8 months. Now that I’ve started blogging again, I noticed that it affects my creativity. My creativity has gone into overdrive since I’ve started blogging frequently again, and this will happen to you too.

When you start blogging a lot, you start seeing every aspect of the world as something that could be incorporated into a blog post. Your mind goes nuts over the most mundane daily activities, and you start thinking of different spins to put on different topics in order to fit them into your niche.

It’s so much fun when this happens. Be sure to keep a notes app handy on your smartphone, or even consider going old school and keeping a little notebook and pen close by. When the ideas start flowing, you want to be sure to record them all.

2. You will become a master of time management.

IMHO, every frequent blogger is a master of time management. Once you make a commitment to update your blog often, you have to figure out how to fit it into your already busy schedule.

Suddenly fifteen minutes here or there in your day becomes valuable blogging time. It forces you to look at time a little bit differently, and to treasure every moment of free time you can find.

Instead of playing games on your smartphone while you wait for an appointment, you’ll feel the urge to whip out your laptop or tablet to finish up a post.

There’s nothing that teaches valuable time management lessons like frequent blogging. If you’re already a frequent blogger, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

3. You will become more relevant, noticed and trusted on your social media sites.

How would you like to feel like a valued contributor in the social media community? How would you like to gain influence without even trying? Wouldn’t it be nice to build your online reputation strategically rather than by default? That’s what frequent blogging can do for you.

When you move from being a content curator to a content contributor, the social media game completely changes. When you put out quality content of your own frequently, suddenly you move into a different realm. You are no longer on the sidelines, but you’re right in the middle of everything.

This is something magical that happens on social media without any additional effort on your part when you start blogging frequently. You’ll gain new followers and fans, and people will start looking forward to your next post.

When I first experienced this, I was overcome with gratitude. It’s a very special feeling, and it will make you want to blog even more.

4. You will inadvertently start a business, which you probably didn’t intend to do.

Blogging frequently will increase the traffic that goes to your blog. The more visitors (and return visitors) you have on your blog, the more attractive your blog becomes to advertisers in your niche.

I know you don’t want to junk up your blog with a bunch of ads, but wouldn’t a few strategically placed ads here and there be nice? Wouldn’t you finally like to get paid a little money for all your hard work?

If you blog frequently, this can become a reality very quickly. Before you know it, you will have started a business that you never even expected.

I love to show bloggers how this can happen. Just reach out to me (@adamsconsulting), and I can explain it in more depth. Having advertisers on your blog isn’t a bad thing if you know how to do it tastefully, and in a way that won’t interfere with your reader’s experience on your blog.

5. You will help your SEO, even if you don’t understand how SEO works.

This is probably my favorite unexpected benefit that happens naturally when you blog frequently. So many people are intimidated by SEO, but it can be relatively simple.

If you are blogging about a particular topic over and over again, and if you are writing longer articles (over 300 words) with valuable, high quality information, Google will reward you with an SEO boost. It happens naturally, and without any additional effort from you.

It’s a beautiful thing when that happens since getting a little thumbs-up from Google is always good. It will make you realize that blogging frequently is truly worthwhile.

Two more articles on this topic that might be of interest to you are Three Hidden Benefits Of Blogging For Marketers on Forbes, and Yes, More Frequent Blogging Really Does Increase Traffic.

If you would like to continue the conversation, please leave a comment below or reach out to me on Twitter at @adamsconsulting. Good luck!

5 Unexpected Benefits That Happen Naturally When You Blog Frequently

Image Credits: [Pixabay / robinams] [Flickr Commons / alamodestuff]

30 thoughts on “5 Unexpected Benefits That Happen Naturally When You Blog Frequently

  1. This is excellent by my standards. You say it so beautifully. The thought flows and convinces. I believe you. I blog frequently and look forward to the results. May I get from you: what is the maximum number of posts you advise someone to publish a day? Thank you for sharing. I am reblogging on Success Inspirer.

    1. The person that wrote this post is Diana Adams, and you can follower her on Twitter here. My personal opinion is you should look to publish what you can commit to with regularity. My take is also that you want to have your posts have as much impact as possible, so if it is your own blog, I wouldn’t publish more than one (per author) a day.

  2. I fully agree to what you say on the unexpected benefits.
    I have been blogging just a few months now, I have understood the benefits, it is really very, very true.
    You tend to be more creative.
    You do the time management properly.
    It increases your traffic and appreciation from others and such a lot of happiness you derive.
    As for me I am taking the maximum benefits.
    I do not keep an eye on the monetary benefits, but it is giving all the satisfaction.
    The response what we get from people from all over the world is just wonderful.
    After all What and Why are we blogging for.
    Thanks so much for sharing, I think it has to be read by many.
    I now follow you.
    You are Welcome to my blog, the Red Carpet is unfurled for YOU.
    Fondest Regards,
    Shiva

  3. It’s lovely to read you again. There are many benefits to blogging and some drawbacks, to list a few, anxiety…some tell me it makes them anxious and a little fearful that their writing will not be accepted on the level they would like…everything has its pros and cons, taking a break sometimes puts things into perspective, thank you so much, Romanus sent me!

  4. Good post. I agree with everything except #2. Being a technical blogger, I often have to do screenshots and come up with examples that don’t always work the first time around.

    Your point about improved SEO without knowing how to do SEO is a really good point. I noticed my traffic continue to rise just from my consistency. I’ve studied SEO, but as a one-man operation I made a conscious decision to just blog … and I’m sitting here nearly finished writing my second book on Excel.

    One thing I’d add to the list:
    Frequent blogging helped me determine what I really cared about. To consistently blog, the blogger has to stay interested. I couldn’t stay interested enough to write about Excel formulas for years and years. BUT! The importance of clean data and the world of being a good analyst. THAT gets me pumped up!!

    But it took about a year of consistent blogging to uncover what I gave a darn about.
    That’s my warning to new bloggers. They might start with a vision or an epic first blogpost. Be open to the vision changing and choose consistency over epic.

  5. I am now blogging more frequently than at any time before in my life. Several of my blogs are very new. I’m hoping to soon see some of those benefits you mentioned. I already am seeing almost everything as a potential blog post.

Leave a Reply

