Sphere Of Influence: Vine Animation Master Jethro Ames

Sphere Of Influence:  Vine Animation Master Jethro Ames

You get to meet some pretty creative people on social media, and one of the most creative people that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting is Jethro Ames. If you check out his account on Vine, I think you’ll agree that Jethro is a master at creating Vine animations.

Jethro’s Vine animations inspire me because they’re really creative, and it takes a lot of work to create them. With only 6 seconds to work with, they have to be well thought out and executed. I admire Jethro because he found his passion, pursued it, and with hard work and dedication made it work. Oh and by the way, Jethro is a Tribeca Film Fest Winner!

Here’s the Vine animation that got me hooked on Jethro Ames, and I hope after this you’ll get hooked on him too:

Me: How and when did you get started in social media?

Jethro Ames: I was actually a late bloomer when it came to social media. With my group of friends, I’m usually the last one of the group to sign up. I never signed up for Livejournal or Friendster. I was late to the party on MySpace. It took me forever to finally sign up for Facebook or Twitter. I guess I was in a place where I wasn’t ready to share my life with acquaintances or strangers. It was only until recently, maybe 2 or 3 years ago when I really took the reins of social media.

Working in the Advertising industry, I started to notice a trend. Where advertising dollars was slowly being spent more on social media instead of the traditional roots of advertising, like television, print and radio. I told myself I wanted to be better about social media, have a stronger understanding and learn what I can do to help myself build an audience and help my clients build theirs.

There was a time where I was so fixated on building my Klout score. I had a mission to build my score from 40 to a respectable 74 in a couple months. It took a lot of work, and I notice it can be really time consuming, almost to a point where it can be a second job for some people.

But, the greatest part about social media is creating great connections and meeting them in real life. That was unheard of for me back in the beginning. I really appreciate the opportunity to build great relationships with friends or brands, with the simple start of a follow on Twitter.

Me: Your Vine animations are so creative! I remember seeing them for the first time a while back and I was wowed by how entertaining they were to watch even though they’re only 6 seconds long. Why did you start creating Vine animations and how do you come up with all of the creative ideas? What’s your inspiration?

Jethro Ames: Thanks so much! Vine is such a great app to let me explore a different creative side that I’m used to. I was so used to creating creative content for my clientele; I never really explored a creative side outside of my work. Vine was able to let me do that. I started using Vine to explore an untapped creative side of filmmaking and telling stories. After work, and after I put my kids to bed, I gave myself that opportunity to have fun and dive into something new.

Coming up with creative ideas. I usually take notes of random ideas that just pop up in my head. My notes app is filled with concepts and creative suggestions to get my head rolling to start a Vine. Normally, I just tap into things I’m already familiar with. Stories I already personally enjoy. Like growing up playing video games, or spending countless hours reading comic books and watching episodes of Japanese Anime one after another.

Being such an Ad guy. I usually also like to explore the big idea, the concept or the unexpected. Sometimes I just want my audience to think about the story or idea, whether it was smart or funny. I love the ability to mix it up based on what the story I want to tell.

Me: While at first it sounds like an easy thing to do, start / stop animation is tough and I know it can be frustrating at times. How long does it take you to create a Vine animation, and what advice would you give someone that’s looking to start creating their own?

Jethro Ames: It really depends on the type of animation you are creating. You can either make it as easy or as hard for yourself when you create your Vine. I think the most important thing to keep in mind, is whether you can convey your story in a clear and concise way. This is probably one of the reasons why I love this app so much. It leaves you to decide on how much production you want to create to tell your story. Sometimes, 2 unexpected objects are all you need to get your point across.

Usually, pre-production takes the most time prior to filming. Sometimes, all I need is an hour or two to create my set to tell my story. Other times, I would need a couple days or a week, to gather and prepare things before I even begun to film. Like I said before, the timing depends on how much you want to invest into telling that story.

The best thing I can tell people is to think about your own strengths and likes. What inspires you to tell your story? What creative outlet do you like to help portray that? Do you like to paint? Do you like to draw? Do you like to film others? Answering these simple questions will help you start your journey in the Vine world, and help you start telling your stories that you love and adore.

You can connect with Jethro Ames here: Vine, Twitter, Tumblr, Google+.

Leave a Reply

