Walking In The Rain Isn’t So Bad After All

Photography is a hobby of mine that I really enjoy. Being able to take photos in New York City is a real blessing. There’s never a dull moment and the architecture is just amazing here. I haven’t been taking photos for all that long, and so I’m still learning new things every day which makes it really fun.

"Come Closer" - Photo taken in Union Square, New York City.
“Come Closer” – Photo taken in Union Square, New York City.

One of the things I did learn early on was that there are certain times of the day that are better for photos than others, like dawn and dusk. I also learned that bad weather creates great photo opportunities.

The first situation is pretty easy for me. I don’t mind waking up early to take photos, all I need is a good cup of coffee and I’m set. But I’m really not so inclined to walk around in bad weather. In fact, when it’s bad out I usually just want to stay inside. And the type of weather makes a difference too. Snow looks fun to walk around in, but rain? Sorry, not so much.

However this time I decided to just bite the bullet and try it anyway. The picture you see above was taken in the rain at Union Square in New York City. And the person in the photo just happened to be one of the few people walking through the park at that time. I suppose I’m not the only one that doesn’t like to walk in the rain.

Taking this photo took me out of my comfort zone for two reasons. The first, if you haven’t guessed yet, is that I’m not a fan of walking in the rain. The second is that I’m not really comfortable taking photos of people. And I’m glad I got myself out of both comfort zones because I think this ended up being a pretty cool photo.

Imagine what you’d accomplish if you just got out of your comfort zone from time to time?

One thought on “Walking In The Rain Isn’t So Bad After All

Leave a Reply

