Dare To Explore The Road Less Traveled

Recently I blogged about how I’ve had to set aside the time to go out with the intention of taking photos, and how I feel it’s improved my photography. And it’s not just setting aside time to take photos in good weather, but also when it’s not so nice out. Bad weather can make for some pretty good photos. But sometimes it also means that I’m walking around in some areas that don’t look so nice.

I love looking at photos of abandoned buildings, train or subway stations, and alleyways. There’s something about those settings that when photographed nicely, shows a lot of character even though it’s a mess. Seeing those kinds of pictures makes me want to see those locations for myself as well, and snap a shot or two.

It might not be a pretty entrance, but following this path leads to some great views for pictures.
It might not be a pretty entrance, but following this path leads to some great views for pictures.

I’m sure that getting to those locations isn’t nice either, and depending on the time of day it could be downright scary. But the end result, captured and put on display, is really nice. And I am certain that the folks that choose to make the ugly trip to take the shot are happy they did.

The path to success in life isn’t always going to come with nice bright welcome signs or a yellow brick road to show you the way. I’m willing to bet that for the vast majority of us it’ll never be that way. Instead, you will need to work hard, make sacrifices, sand possibly suffer while staying dedicated to get to where you want to be. And on top of that the journey might be pretty long too. But remember, that the goal is to get to the finish line, to take “picture” that will make you proud.

So dare to explore the road less traveled. Are you up for it? Have you successfully done so? I’d love to hear your story!

4 thoughts on “Dare To Explore The Road Less Traveled

Leave a Reply

