Are You Ready for Kindergarten?

During our family game time, my boys have recently been asking to play “Are you ready for Kindergarten?”.  It’s a game show board game, where there are various questions about math and language to help prepare a child for kindergarten.  It’s a fun game which allow both my boys to have fun while learning.  But the last time we played, I realized as a mom I am NOT ready for kindergarten!

This summer we played this game a lot.
This summer we played this game a lot.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m so excited that my older one is growing up and I am ready for him to go to school, but as I am counting down our last few days before summer is really over, I can’t help but feel a little sad.  (though of course I don’t tell my boys).

And now as I sit here the night before the adventure of school begins, my heart is racing with anxious excitement as it’s a new journey for our family and at the same time I’m worrying about the bus ride to school and all that the day will entail for him, when it hits me that I need to stop and breathe.

So after a restless night of sleep (for me), the first day of school comes and we are all ready!

So proud of him!
So proud of him!

Breakfast is eaten, Lunch is packed, and off to wait for the bus we go.  As the school bus comes down the block, I feel a squeeze in my hand – all of the excitement and anticipation on D’s face now turns into nervousness.  Tears begin rolling down both D’s and L’s faces as one doesn’t want to let go of my hand while getting on the bus and the other wants to get on the bus too.

We did survive the day! D shared what he did his first day and how he enjoyed all the things they did and I’m so proud of him! I’m excited to see what this year bring – ready or not, kindergarten here we come!

Do you remember your child’s first day of Kindergarten?

6 thoughts on “Are You Ready for Kindergarten?

  1. I just teared up a bit when reading this as I remember those exact same feelings when I sent both my kids off to Kindergarten. I cant believe that D has started kindergarten! Wow time really does fly. Congrats! I do remember my first day of Kindergarten – I could not wait to get on that bus and go! I even remember what I wore! I remember my teacher Mrs. Pratt and I can still vividly see what my classroom looked like. Plus I remember my classmate who liked to eat the paste under the table 😎 Kindergarten was soo much fun.

    1. Thanks for sharing Shari! I can remember my kindergarten days too and the fun we had. D is enjoying his first week too! I know the year will go quickly, so we are making sure we enjoy it.

  2. ​I vividly remember when my 10 year old and 8 year old sons started Kindergarten! I had mixed emotions of excitement and sadness.

    Yesterday, my boys started their first day at a new school. I felt both excitement about their attendance at a school where the curriculum will be a better fit for them and nervousness about all the uncertainty brought about from my own experience of being the “new kid.” My boys had these same exact feelings yesterday.

    Wishing D a wonderful Kindergarten year and prayers for you, Mom & Dad, as you navigate this new stage.

    Also, congratulations on your first blog post. I look forward to reading more. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Charmin – D has been enjoying kindergarten and we are all adjusting well to the school year! I just subscribed to your website and I’ll try to share more soon!

Leave a Reply

