How Do You Honor The Lost?

It’s the 14th anniversary of the September 11 attacks, and just like the previous 13 years, we made our way down to the 9/11 Memorial to listen to the names of the lives that were lost and remember and honor our loved ones. And for some reason I started to ask myself, what exactly is the best way to honor someone?

DSC08114_edit_fb

The 9/11 Memorial serves as a great reminder for everyone about the lives that were lost on that tragic day, and for some the location is a cemetery simply because their loved ones remains were not found or identified. Each year, on this day, many are somber and sad while they remember those people that that they loved and are no longer with us. But it occurred to me though, that visiting this site once a year, or maybe twice or three times for some, isn’t the best way that you can honor someone.

Now before you start commenting about how you completely disagree, hear me out. Going back to the 9/11 Memorial, or any memorial, gravesite, or cemetery is a great way to remember whom you lost and reflect on how they positively affected your life, and to express how much you still miss them. But after your visit is done, the best way to honor your lost loved one is to show it in how you live your life.

DSC08148_edit_fb

It’s simple, actions speak louder than words. It’s not what you’re going to do, it’s what you’ve done that matters. If someone truly meant something to you, if there was someone you really respected, then it would show in how you live your life because you would want to exhibit the same characteristics and principles that they did. In other words, you’d model some part of your life after them.

Year after year, the crowds at the 9/11 Memorial seem to get smaller and smaller. It seems as if a lot of people have moved on, and I don’t blame them because life goes on. But as life does move on and I hope you do too, don’t just always say, “never forget”, instead live your life like you haven’t forgotten.

4 thoughts on “How Do You Honor The Lost?

  1. WOW! Heavy stuff.

    How do I honor those who are gone? The people I think about died young and they’re reminders to me that we have just one life.

    Honoring them is when I push a little harder to make good use of my only life. They’re good to remember when I consider taking the easier route or setting a dream aside until “one day.”

    The last conversation I had with a friend a month before he died at the age of 44, he expressed concerned that he was leaving his wife and son with nothing. For me, he stands as an example of someone who tried really damned hard to fulfill on an unconventional vision, but time ran out. Sometimes he went to foolish extremes, but no one can say that he put things off until “one day.”

    Your blogpost has me reflecting on what he meant to me and still means to me:
    Keep the vision
    Keep showing up
    The clock is ticking

    1. Thank you for that heartfelt response Oz, I really appreciate your comments. Your words have confirmed what I believe to be true in that it’s all about the actions, and very much less the words.

Leave a Reply

